### LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

#### 12 JANUARY 2017

Present: County Councillor Merry(Chairperson) County Councillors Bowden, Chaundy, Hunt and Dianne Rees

#### 53 : APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Hinchey and Phillips and Alan Evans, Chair of Cardiff Governors Association.

#### 54 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillors Merry and Dianne Rees declared an interest in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct and the Local Government Act 1972 in Item 6 on the Agenda. Councillor Merry was the referee for a Councillor seeking re-appointment to the Governing Body of Radyr Comprehensive School and took no part in the consideration of that item; and Councillor Dianne Rees was seeking re-appointment to the Governing Body of St Mellons CiW Primary School and left the meeting during consideration of that item.

#### 55 : MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 8 November 2016 were approved by the Committee as a correct record and were signed by the Chairperson

#### 56 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES LIST

Members received a list of existing and future vacancies.

57 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED: That the public be excluded from the meeting by virtue of paragraph 12 of part(s) 4 and 5 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

#### 58 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee considered applications received to existing and future Local Authority Governor vacancies. Each application was assessed against the adopted selection criteria for the appointment and conduct and relevant information received from the Director of Education, Chair of Governors and Head teacher in relation to attendance.

RESOLVED: That the Council is recommended to approve the following appointments to the Local Authority School Governing Bodies:

# EXISTING GOVENOR VACANCIES

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF VACANCY	NOMINATIONS(S)
Bryn Hafod Primary School	Llanrumney	19/05/2016	Rachel Johnson
Fitzalan High School	Canton	19/12/2016	Daniel Morgan
Moorland Primary School	Splott	26/09/2016	Cllr Ed Stubbs
Radyr Primary School	Radyr	22/11/2016	Jane Griffiths
Rhydypenau Primary School	Cyncoed	01/10/2016	Sian Evans
Woodlands High School (2 vacancies)	Caerau	10/12/2016 29/09/2016	Doug Corp
Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf	Llandaff	26/10/2016	Nia Blackwell

# FUTURE GOVERNOR VACANCIES

	1		
SCHOOL	WARD	START OF	RE-
		VACANCY	APPOINTMENT
Coryton Primary	Whitchurch	27/02/2017	Nesta Evans
School			
Fairwater	Fairwater	29/03/2017	George Fleri
Primary School			0
Lansdowne	Canton	20/01/2017	Cllr Ramesh
Primary School			Patel
Ninian Park	Grangetown	25/02/2017	Ivor Gittens
Primary School			
Pentrebane	Fairwater	25/02/2017	Eileen Nicholls
Primary School			
Radyr	Radyr	25/02/2017	Cllr Rod
Comprehensive			McKerlich
School			
Rhiwbeina	Rhiwbina	29/03/2017	Siva Sivapalan
Primary School			
Rhydypenau	Cyncoed	25/02/2017	Anne Gee
Primary School			
Springwood	Pentwyn	25/02/2017	Cllr Boyle
Primary School			5
St Francis RC	Ely	25/02/2017	Cllr Goodard
Primary School	-		
St Mellons CiW	Llanrumney	25/02/2017	Cllr Dianne
Primary School	-		Rees
Ysgol Pwll Coch	Canton	27/02/2017	William
			Callaway

## 59 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The date of the next meeting of the Local Authority Governor Panel is 2 March 2017 at 5.00 pm.

This document is available in Welsh / Mae'r ddogfen hon ar gael yn Gymraeg